Windows 10 is Here and It’s…Well…

Oh readers, how nice to see you again!

Sorry, apologies, and all that stuff, so let’s get down to the nitty gritty.

Windows 10.

By now, you all know that Microsoft’s latest operating system is out and about and if you’re one of the millions who is running either Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1, your copy is totally free (as long as you do it in a year). And you all know that I’ve been looking forward to the official release, even throwing my laptop in for the Technical Preview. Well, I can say that I now have it on both computers and the verdict is…

Um…complicated actually.

As a Windows Insider, I should have been able to get the new OS on the day it launched (I didn’t), however that didn’t matter, as Microsoft had tools readily available for people who wanted to get in on the action. So I started with my laptop, of course. You might remember that this was my cheap little laptop that I bought during Black Friday 2014 and while not the power house that is Optimus Prime, it’s decent enough. In fact, I dare say that Windows 10 has made it better, that we’ll get to that.

For you, my readers, that haven’t gotten to Windows 10, I would like to explain just how I got two PCs running it. It’s not for the faint of heart, I’ll tell you. As we speak, I’m trying to fix an issue, but again, we will come back to that. Let’s start with the laptop, shall we?

Laptop install – Launch Day July 29

So on the official launch day of Windows 10, I did not get my official “Windows 10 is ready for you to install”. Needless to say, I was annoyed that my roommate was able to get Windows 10 before me without being an insider (what exactly is the point of doing that if we’re not gonna get the install first day?) But it was okay, as Microsoft made it easy to just download their tool and install it that way.

So I did an official upgrade from Windows 8.1 to Windows 10. Everything seemed okay.

The Next Day

On the next day, there were problems. Namely, neither my calendar nor my mail app’s live tiles were working. Seeing as I was about to head for work, I thought a simple chat with support would be helpful (it wasn’t). Their solution for two of my live tiles not working? Reinstall. Right because you know, I don’t have anything else better to do on a Thursday. I head into work, with my regular Windows 8.1 laptop and decide to just install when I get home.

Now, I was already prepared to do a clean install thanks to some great instructions from LifeHacker, so I was able to just do a clean install and voila, everything good as new. And yes, Windows 10 actually seems to make my budget laptop run better. Of course, there were some things I needed to do without, such as Chrome, which is a notorious memory hog and seems to cause my little laptop heaps of stress. This is annoying, as all of my bookmarks are in Chrome. Irritating is that the new Microsoft Edge doesn’t do HTML imports of bookmarks; weird, right? You would think Microsoft would know that people might want to try this new browser and would want to important bookmarks from browsers that are not IE (which really is best used to download other browsers).

All in all, on my laptop, Windows 10 is great. In fact, I’m writing this post from my laptop. And sadly, it’s not because I’ve suddenly forgotten about Optimus Prime, it’s because my move from Windows 7 to Windows 10 was less than…pleasant.

We’ll go over that in the next post.

About Writer 66

Writing since the age of seven, managed to get a job as a copy writer, while enjoying the unsung awesomeness as a creative fan fic writer.

Posted on August 9, 2015, in Interludes, The Business Side and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

