Gina, What’re You Doing Again?

Yo readers!

So the past few weeks, I’ve lamented about turning 35 and looking for a career, talking about internships, and getting a portfolio, etc. I probably mentioned what path I’m pursuing, but I don’t think I’ve explained exactly what it is I’m doing. So if you’re wondering why my awesome blog isn’t being updated every week (you know, when I’m actually updating every week), here’s the answer.

My path to Technical Writing

My journey, I guess you could say, has ended – or is beginning – here, at technical writing. What the heck is technical writing, you ask? Good question! The simple answer is technical writing makes the complex simple and easy to follow. A better example would be this – you know that help manual you got when you purchased your new phone? Or tablet, laptop, coffee machine, lamp? Those little booklets are written by someone and that someone is a technical writer. Technical writing, also known as technical communications, are the people behind the help manuals, user guides, howtos, and basic instruction booklets that come with any purchase you make.

There’s a bit more to it than that, but essentially that’s what technical writing is. Tech writers work in a ton of different environments and work on a whole lot of different things, but the ultimate goal is to help users understand how to use the thing or device they are using. And that, friends, is what I’m planning on doing.

How did you come to this idea?

Well, in that previous post on turning 35, I discovered I’ve been so focused on getting a job to pay bills and get out of debt, that I hadn’t ever really figured out a career path for myself. Now, in hindsight, that’s not exactly true – before the recession, I was on my way to doing a career path of web design, but then the recession happened. On a good side, the last few years I’ve been going back and forth on what I wanted to do, it’s better that I actually have a focus now then spending time, money, and energy on doing something that I’ll change in a few years.

But so far so good – I’m taking class, got an internship, got some volunteer work and I’m rolling on. The cool thing about this new direction is that while tech writers can be employed by a business, there’s many that freelance and consult, so while my path has changed, the blog is still gonna be about freelancing. So fellow writers, if you’ve started hitting the wall on what to do next, the new FRR is going to give up some tips.

As I learn them of course.

About Writer 66

Writing since the age of seven, managed to get a job as a copy writer, while enjoying the unsung awesomeness as a creative fan fic writer.

Posted on July 7, 2014, in Beginnings, Interludes, Story Time!, technical writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

