The Path to a Career…Or, I’m Turning 35, What Do I Do Now??

Bueno, good readers!

As some of you may or may not know, my birthday is coming up next and it’s the monumental big 3-5. The quintessential middle-aged number, the halfway point to forty and I’m turning it. While I’m not particularly happy about it, a much more pressing issue has begun to crop up as I start the countdown.

My career.

You see, I don’t have one and as I’m about to approach the age where I should have that, married, kids, the whole nine yards, I have of course begun to think about that it is I wanna be when I grow up. And the answer is…

I don’t know.

When I was a kid, I knew I wanted to be a writer; as I got older, reality demanded that I choose something that would, you know, actually pay my bills and stuff and hence the application for a job. Here a job, there a job, everywhere a job job. It wasn’t until 2006 maybe that I decided I really needed to invest in something and going back to college was the idea. I thought I was on track to finding that career thing I needed and then the Great Recession happened and bye bye school. I’ve finally be able to get myself turned back around, but it means I’m starting from scratch.

Again.

But Gina, you say. This is a blog about freelancing, certainly this is the chosen career path, right? Well, reader, I don’t know. When I started this blog nearly four years ago (holy cow, Batman!), it was because I was about to go on a journey – I was moving out of state for the first time and was going to strike it with this freelancing gig thing. For the beginner like me, it seemed like a good idea; now, far be it from me to tell you not to be a freelance whatever. There were many things about freelancing that I enjoyed and miss, however there are downsides that many of those freelancing blogs don’t tell you and when you go through them, it sucks. Monkey ball sucks. Like not having enough money to pay rent, for example, or to buy food or to do anything really.

Does this mean I don’t want to freelance anymore? No, cause if I did, I wouldn’t still be freelancing; I’m saying I wasn’t prepared for the big picture until I was in it.

And that leads me back to our topic – a career.

If you’re like me – and I’m sure some of you are – in the race to just get the bills paid and get food on the table, the career thing may have been a far off, intangible thing. After our mini recession, there were millions of people who didn’t have jobs, were about to lose their homes, and everything, where thinking about their career was not something that needed to be done for the moment. It’s taken nearly seven years, but I’m finally in a position where I’m crawling out of the hole I landed in during that time, so now it’s time to refocus.

But what exactly am I focusing on? That’s just it again, I don’t know. Oh, I have ideas – writing has been and will always be my favorite hobby and past time, always. Getting paid for it is definitely the one up bonus, especially when I’m writing about something I’m interested in and I can write it however I see fit. Since I started learning more and more about the big mechanical thing I sit in front of most of the day, technology has also been an interest, with a wide variety of topics and events that I would love to be in or be a part of. Best jobs so far were working with social media companies and kinda learning about the marketing and promotions behind them. Social media consultant would be a great job, no doubt, but I also enjoy doing this – blogging. Oh and updating my website, both administration and design.

Don’t even get me started on how great it was writing about technology as a whole. Do I want to do that? I would yes, but with some added concepts.

All of the above I did either as a freelancer or part-time employee for a small company. I like small companies, however as with many of them and every one that I’ve worked for, very little to no business means no more jobby for Gina. That makes Gina sad. There’s also that little thing about benefits that I like and that’s having it; only time I’ve ever gotten benefits was working for a big corporation, which is usually the pits. So that’s where I’m at – continue working big corp, where I get health benefits and get a scheduled paycheck, but hate the job and get burned out or go to work for a small business, where I’d more than likely enjoy the work, the people, the company, had a flexibility for the job, but get no benefits and the always present laid off/business failure scenario.

So how about it, guys? Any tips, ideas, suggestions? Anyone going through the same thing? Let me know in the comments beloooooow!

About Writer 66

Writing since the age of seven, managed to get a job as a copy writer, while enjoying the unsung awesomeness as a creative fan fic writer.

Posted on May 12, 2014, in Beginnings, Interludes, The Business Side and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

