When is Too Much Freelancing Too Much?

Readers of the Freelancer R blog! I have great news!

I’m getting a ton of different projects! This is great for me because it means I can pay rent and bills and buy food and all those other things that need to be done in order to make sure that, you know, I have a roof over my head and electricity and well…food.

But as I throw my name about left and right, I am getting a little bit of the…’holy hell! I’ve got a lot of work to do!’ While a most definite good thing, there can be some downsides to having as many projects you can shake a stick at.

When It’s Too Much

Could you ever possibly have too much work? If you’ve kept up even moderately with the news, you’ll know that in the US and much of Europe, there’s an employment crisis happening. With millions of people unable to work or even find positions in which to work, the very idea that getting an extra amount of papers to write, programs to pour over, or design projects is nothing to be ungrateful for.

But, as science has shown us, working ourselves to the bone doesn’t do anything to help us or our employer either. With Americans at least putting a pull string on the purse strings, the very thought of a vacation wouldn’t have even entered our vocabulary. I’d love to go on vacation, but have you seen the prices for a plane ticket somewhere!?

That’s not even including hotel stay or even car rental, food, entertainment; that’s money I could use to, you know, pay rent or make sure that I’m eating three meals a day (instead of one or nothing).

But this isn’t a post about taking a vacation…

Or is it?

What happens when you get so much stuff you don’t know what to do?

First, Don’t Panic

First, don’t panic. Take deep breaths; you’ll need to do this after you have jumped up and down, ran around the house in excited glee, etc. Once the true scope of what you’re about to get into has settled, sit down and breathe deeply.

Secondly, sit down and make a schedule. This is important! I’m serious; when you’ve got a ton of work to do and a ton of people to pay you, you’re gonna want to know what the heck is going on. I have completely forgotten things because I didn’t write them down. It doesn’t matter what you use; while I try to be more into tech, I still have a habit of writing down appointments in a planner.

Not always, hence why I have like five of them, but sometimes having a physical and visual item seems to help than having my phone alert me to every little thing possible.

Now, planning and scheduling only work if you know what you’re going to do for the day or the rest of the week. For instance, if you’re writing or designing for an online site, then you probably have a set deadline when things are due; some times, you get things as they come.

The best thing is to do what comes up first, then to sit on it. Certainly, if you get something right as you wake in the morning, you should take some time to be aware of the world before getting started.

Is there ever time to relax?

Yes! Most definitely, take time out to de-stress, especially when you’re working from home. It’s easy to get a little bit of cabin fever, so in order to avoid typing out a mantra of ‘All Work and No Play’, take breaks. These are good for you, especially if – like me – you’re staring at a computer screen for most of the day.

I try to take a good thirty minutes to an hour of not doing anything that relates to work; lately, I’ve been trying to keep my brain working by either watching Jeopardy or Brain Games. I also try reading or watching the news, as well as reading period.

It’s awesome that you now have a ton of work, but don’t forget to take breaks, even if it’s just sitting outside in the sun.

About Writer 66

Writing since the age of seven, managed to get a job as a copy writer, while enjoying the unsung awesomeness as a creative fan fic writer.

Posted on June 25, 2013, in Beginnings, The Business Side, web design and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

