The Portfolio Experience

 

English: WordPress Logo

English: WordPress Logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In the last post I started to tell you how I created a portfolio in WordPress and came to the conclusion that I write too much. Obviously, I’m a writer, that’s what I do, but when creating this portfolio I realize just how much I had written and for how many people.

The Writer’s Dilemma

So I made little thumbnails for the articles I wanted to showcase and decided that because most of them are in article format anyway, I’d make it easier and go by topic, like technology or video games. You guys, one never knows how much stuff they have done until they look back upon it. That actually sounds profound, doesn’t it?

I obviously started with the sites that I began with, which in itself was a hassle. I’ve mentioned that I had nearly 500 articles on Bright Hub and because I no longer write for the site, my profile isn’t available for me to just say, “here! click this link!” Luckily, when I first had this thought, I went about trying to keep track of all these articles. Well…let’s just say that keeping track of nearly 500 articles is hard work.

And that was for one site.

While looking for the video games reviews I had done, I realized that those had moved over to the video game website that one of the editors had been running. Off the top of my head, I clearly remembered doing three or four reviews; obviously in this search I did waaaaaay more than that.

2. The Resume Upload

After going with the gallery look and then realizing, dear Lord I write too much, I decided to take a break from that madness and upload my resume. Here in lies the other problem.

See, as my portfolio states, I’m a jack (Jane? Jill?) of all trades. Writing is what I love doing, certainly, but I’ve also done some web design stuff and of course, my day job has always been office administration and management and my newest obsession is social media management. Needless to say, I’ve got four resumes that I will send out to jobs that I think I’m qualified for.

A friend of mine had a great suggestion – and one that I think all you creative jacks and janes will like too – and that was to combined all of that in to one, flowing resume. And it makes sense, right? You probably have shared experience across the board and certainly you worked the same jobs, so ta-da!

Now, as someone in the WordPress community mentioned, the ability of downloading said resume would be great, but I haven’t figured out how to do that yet, but the idea of perhaps having links to each resume would be reasonable.

So, that’s the beginning of how I got the portfolio up and running. You can check it out on the menu bar; it’s still a work in progress – thinking about changing the background and maybe going the original article topic sections – so most definitely let me know what you think in the comments!

About Writer 66

Writing since the age of seven, managed to get a job as a copy writer, while enjoying the unsung awesomeness as a creative fan fic writer.

Posted on May 19, 2013, in Beginnings, The Business Side, web design and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Have you ever considered writing an ebook or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog centered on the same subjects you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my visitors would enjoy your work.

    If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

    • I actually just had an assignment where I wrote three ebooks and it was rather fun, especially considering it was in a topic that enjoyed doing. Will definitely check out your blog! Glad you enjoy the site!

  1. Pingback: Gina, What’re You Doing Again? | FREELANCER R

Leave a Reply

