Smartphones & Business

A few weeks ago, I had been counting down the days until I could get my hands on the new Galaxy Nexus from Google. A friend of mine has the previous version and while I didn’t like the fact that there was no physical keyboard, I was hard pressed to find any of the newer phones having one.

English: Google Nexus S - Samsung Android Phone

English: Google Nexus S – Samsung Android Phone (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So when my phone upgrade came, I earmarked my money for the Galaxy Nexus and I have to say that I am quite happy with it. It’s no surprise of course that I’m absolutely in love with Google and all things Google; I wasn’t intending to be a Google fan girl, but I have to say that I have been using a ton of their products for years and have just recently completely switched over.

Now, aside from having a neat and new smartphone, as a freelancer, you might be wondering why having a smartphone would be a benefit.

1. Mobile

First and foremost, having a smartphone means that you are mobile and as freelancers, that’s what we need. I know you could just use a laptop or a tablet, but unless you plan on taking those with you everywhere, having an easy access to a smartphone is great.

2. Apps

The big thing that really does make up a smartphone is the fact that there are mobile versions of the things that we could utilize while on the go that we would use on a desktop. For instance, every Android phone comes with access to Google’s platform – Gmail, Calendar, Maps, Search, etc.

And even if you decide to go with the hyped up iPhone 5, you can still set up what ever email that you need to receive. Those of you that have or are thinking about getting Windows phone, you’re in luck as Office is now a standard there and if you’re not on Windows, you can still easily get alternatives to Office products like Word and Excel.

3. Freelancing Apps

I know what you’re asking – how does having a smartphone help me, the freelancer? Well, it helps in many ways, depending what your specialty is. As a writer or blogger, many of the popular platforms have mobile apps in which you can write up your ideas and posts when away from your computer.

I’ve recently re-discovered Evernote, a note taking app that is cross platform. I had heard about it before, but was only using it sporadically until I moved to Virginia. Not wanting to take my desktop, which has the majority of my writings, I decided to use a combination of Evernote and Google in which to keep things I wanted to work on, while being able to have those things updated.

I now use it to get story ideas and for work.

This is only a small amount of things that can make being a freelancer on the go a bit easier with a smartphone than carrying around multiple items.

About Writer 66

Writing since the age of seven, managed to get a job as a copy writer, while enjoying the unsung awesomeness as a creative fan fic writer.

Posted on October 13, 2012, in Beginnings, The Business Side and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I certainly get irked while people consider worries
    that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined
    out the whole thing without having side effect , people could
    take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

