On Holiday

So, it dawned on me this week that this is a holiday weekend. Memorial Day. A holiday that I usually forget until I either show up to work on Monday or I suddenly remember on Friday that it’s a three day weekend. Of course, as I freelancer, I’m starting to realize that holidays can be any day for me.

Last year when I was still employed at a job job, sometimes we got holidays off. The major ones of course, like Thanksgiving and Christmas, were extended for four days or even two weeks (Christmas/New Year), but the smaller holidays, like Labor Day or the 4th of July were iffy. I might get it off or work half a day or of course, work while enjoying the holiday party or something.

This will be my first official holiday (Cinco de Mayo kinda doesn’t count as it’s my friend’s birthday, so we kinda forget that it’s a holiday) and I’m wondering should I continue with my productive work schedule or work half a day? I guess the real question is – can I afford to take off a holiday?

That answer is met with a shrug. Luckily, I’ll be good for bills next month, which is great and certainly better than previous months. But on the other hand, this holiday could easily wreck my perfect return to productivity. I’ll admit that this week was a bit shaky thanks to helping friends move, but I still managed to turn in articles every day. And now that I’ve replaced my coffee maker and I gets the coffee, I can wake up at 6 am and get to work.

Of course when I first got started, I looked up what to do when met with a holiday as a freelancer. Work it or don’t? If I treat this like a job, I’m met with the same question. Certainly when I worked at the hospital, I worked holidays and sometimes I didn’t. That said, I’m looking for that great job where I will NEVER work on any holiday, even my birthday.

With that said, maybe I will put up some articles and then get to writing those fics that are just sitting around.

For those with the day off and celebrating – Happy Memorial Day! Have fun, be Safe!

About Writer 66

Writing since the age of seven, managed to get a job as a copy writer, while enjoying the unsung awesomeness as a creative fan fic writer.

Posted on May 29, 2011, in Beginnings, Interludes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

