Why Google’s Panda Isn’t So Nice

Image representing Google as depicted in Crunc...

Image via CrunchBase

Last month was as crazy as you could imagine. Not only was I in a world of financial hurt, but the final and last straw came when one of the online publication sites I write for broke the news about Google’s Panda update.

All hell broke loose.

So those of you who may not know, Google – since the beginning of the year – has been trying to cut down on those article sites that pop up in the search queue with irrelevant information. These are the kind of sites that will have several articles that ask, “How to Brush Your Teeth” with the same content, but fifteen different titles.

This is called a content farm. I recognized the situation, because I write for one. I’m not knocking it cause it’s extra money, but as I tried to explain to friends, there’s a reason that I don’t write for that particular site exclusively. Again, it’s money, and as we all know, I likes me the money.

Anyway, back to Google. So Google is getting fed up with these sites busting down the legit sites, so it starts changing the way searches are shown. This starts in January 2011 with their Farmer update. In laymen terms, Google’s people make it so that these content farms don’t show within the first page of results. A few months later (last month to be exact), Panda came rolling about and broke everyone’s shit.

Now, on a good scale – as a writer, I was quite impressed with my major article site because all the editors busted out all the stops to get our content to work with the change. Quality over quantity over there and it makes all the writers and editors there better writers. I can’t argue that.

The downside of course is that I had a shit load of articles come back to me that needed to be edited. Out of the 300+ on that site, 60 something articles came back to me. 60. Luckily, they weren’t hard edits, but I have my work cut out for me. Like, this entire month of May has been spent editing these articles. I just finished batch one last week and have plans on working batch three this weekend.

That’s a lot of writing, let me tell you.

If I was getting burned out from writing last month, this month stopped that whining. And of course, don’t forget that I was without Internet for an entire month, so I’m also behind on website updating over at SPANTENNA and of course those fan fics that are sitting around (or have been sitting around) waiting for me to finish them.

Again, there are pros to this – major article site is making me be a better writer. Even when I’m seething inside at needing to resubmit something, I know that it’s a good. Cons of course are that I am far behind than what I should be. I was reminded earlier in the week why it takes me two to three hours to update the website – I do not write short stories. I don’t think I have ever been capable of writing a short story.

Not even the short stories in school were short. In fact, that was the major problem – they were too long.

Y’all are in luck those, cause the next few weeks are all about being productive and believe me, I’ve been crazy productive. It’s actually lasted for two weeks. That’s like a record or something.

About Writer 66

Writing since the age of seven, managed to get a job as a copy writer, while enjoying the unsung awesomeness as a creative fan fic writer.

Posted on May 21, 2011, in Beginnings, The Business Side and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

