The Super Long Weekend Update

Hello all!

How are you? Thanks for tuning in for the super long weekend update! Why is it super long? Basically, I didn’t send love the blog way yesterday. I have an actual excuse though – I’m sick. Which, if I haven’t stated before, I hate. I mean, I hate being sick. I really, really do.

With a passion.

Thankfully it’s – hopefully – just a head cold and I’d like to keep it that way.

In other news, today is the day – the actual day – that I move in to my new apartment in Denver. To recap, I moved from my hometown of Tucson last month for the new adventure of living in a new city and state (which I have never done before). With this move, I declared myself a freelance writer.

I saw potential. I saw…a promiseland.

Well, like everything else in the world, my plan did not work out so good. And, as usual, it all came down to one thing – money. If you want me to explain it, ask and I’ll send you an email about it, but it was a long, arduous process of screaming, frustration.

Here is an important fact, kids – freelancing is hard. I know, complete revelation, but it’s hard. Now, hold on y’all, don’t be leaving the blog just yet. I knew what I was getting in to – kinda – when I started this. Freelancing, if you haven’t discovered, is often quite easy whence you have a job. Now that I don’t have one, that fact is of course painfully clear.

Now, with all that said, I have learned a few things as a beginner freelancer, which I shall share with you. Cause, you know, the blog has to teach you something once and a while, right?

Things I’ve learned –

1. I do not like working at home.

Now, you may be thinking, “Gina, as a freelancer, you have to work from home.” and while is mostly true, I think e two years of working from home for actual work kinda ruined the actual illusion of awesome work from home coolness. It’s not.

See, I’m the type of person who does very well with deadlines, as well as having someone asking if I’ve gotten anything done (in a timely and professional manner, of course). And I’ve discovered that I like working in an office. Working in an office allows for ‘home’ to be the relaxing place where work dare not tread.

2. Freelancing Takes Discipline

It also takes focus, which if I’m staring at my apartment’s four walls for hours on end, I have lost. Now, perhaps this month was a bad one to start up the freelancing. I mean – I’ve spent the last two years working from home and experiencing cabin fever like never before and increasingly became aware that what I wanted was not where I currently lived.

This isn’t to say I’m not disciplined; there are days where I am so productive, I’ve managed to out do myself, which is awesome. There are also days in which I just want to watch a movie or TV show. That of course works much better if I had an office job, where I could come home or call in sick (which is usually when I’m actually sick). Can’t really do that in freelancing, at least not for an extended amount of time.

3. I Really Hate Rejection

I will say that for freelancing, and for anyone who is going to use freelance writing (or whatever) to move on to a bigger portion of that, it’s good for getting rejected. By rejected, I mean writing that isn’t accepted, obviously. I know that not everyone is going to like what I write, I know this, however in the professional world that I’ve come to experience, sometimes even just claiming something can lead to rejection.

Unlike previous months where I was doing at least part of  rent for my current apartment, this month I’m not even sure I made half, because a lot of things that I wanted and claimed were rejected. The hardest thing is, I don’t know why. I was never told, which if anything is just frustrating. At least tell me why it was rejected.

However, with that said, I’d like to be an author one day, so rejection is really a part of the game.

Does this of course mean I’m gonna throw in the towel? No. It’s hard, but what is anything without the benefits of hard work, right? So march on, freelancers.

Tomorrow, a rant about being taken away from the freelancing.

About Writer 66

Writing since the age of seven, managed to get a job as a copy writer, while enjoying the unsung awesomeness as a creative fan fic writer.

Posted on February 5, 2011, in Beginnings, The Business Side and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

