Elementary, Dear Reader

Most of my friends, nay anyone that has met me, will know that I have a morbid fascination with crime. All aspects of crime – crime scenes, historic murders, infamous murders, unsolved murders, historic events that could possibly be linked to murder…I watch a lot of Discovery.

A lot.

It’s a childhood condition, really, that is easily traced back to that of my obsession with mystery novels, starting from – of course – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I really did want to go into law enforcement as a kid; I wanted to be the detective in the books and classic movies I saw. Alas, at some point in my life I realized that perhaps the whole ‘could be killed on the job’ really had no interest for me (hence why I have two WoW toons that can heal. Not others, just me).

Anyway, today I was watching one of the many and fascinating documentaries on Lizzie Borden. If you don’t know – which is just sad and horrific that you don’t – Lizzie Borden was the OJ Simpson of late 1800s. No, really. She was accused of murdering not one, but two people, who happened to be her father and step mother, plus she didn’t just kill them, like a woman. Oh no, no no no.

She hacked them to death. With an axe.

So I’m watching this with the friends I’m staying with until Internet comes to the new apartment (you know the one I’m paying for that has no cable hook up. Hilarity ensued with that, let me tell you) and friend number 1 makes a suggestion that I – honestly – had never considered.

“Have you ever considered taking a case from Denver where some fuck did this kind of thing and writing about it?”

In other words, have I ever thought about taking my love of writing and combining it with my love of all things murderous and true? And the answer was no. Admittedly, I’ve of course written mysteries before, in fact that’s the bulk of all of my original writings. Hell, even my  fan fics have some sort of mystery involved in the plot. I love mysteries and apparently, the gruesome the better. But it had never occurred to me to combine those two things together.

And now…the interest is certainly there. I mean, it’s not something I can start on immediately. I’m about two days away from driving everyone here nuts with my needy/clingy ways and this start to a new adventure is turning worse than I wanted or even planned for (and I planned for awesome. Planned for the awesome). However, the thought intrigues me. What better way of exploring my new city than to learn about its unsolved history?

And by history I mean horribly bloody murders that have occurred in its past and that hopefully occurred nowhere near my current place of residence.

As Barney Stinson would say…”Challenge accepted.” For a later date.

 

About Writer 66

Writing since the age of seven, managed to get a job as a copy writer, while enjoying the unsung awesomeness as a creative fan fic writer.

Posted on January 23, 2011, in Beginnings, Story Time! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

