Beck, Snookie, and Twain. Yes. I said it.

So I’m sure we’ve all heard that both Glen Beck and The Jersey Shore’s Snookie have both reached the top of the New York Times.

WTF.

I mean…do you have any idea how many talented writers there are in the world? I have more talent in my pinky than Beck has in his brain – which if you read that first ‘book’ of his, you would agree with me – and yet…I’m not a published author.

Okay, so that in itself is kinda my fault, but you know bills and stuff. But still…it’s more of a comment on our society. I sent a tweet over to Ashley Kingsley (@ashleykingsley) on Twitter asking if I were to say ‘Melville’ or ‘Hawthorne’ to the younger generation, would they know who they were?

And no, I won’t tell you who they are if you don’t know. You have technology, you can look it up. :p However, if you do know, you can leave comments. Those are okay.

And don’t even get me started on the whole deal with Mark Twain. Look – I’m black. And I’ve read Huck Finn. In fact, it had been required reading when I was in school (and I’m not that old, damn it!) and I didn’t have an issue with the ‘N’ word. Know why? Cause the book was written in a time when that was kosher.

My friends and I had this discussion. Do we as society somehow forget history? Or is it that we forget it enough that we are doomed to repeat it? Do kids even read books anymore? And I mean actual books, like Melville, Hawthorne, Hurston, Wright, and Twain. I’ve actually gotten back into reading, thanks to downloading the Kindle onto my Android phone.

I read Washington, as I don’t think I ever had before; re-reading Doyle’s great detective; and of course working my way through Poe. Who doesn’t love Poe? Or rather, can anyone name two stories by Poe that are not the Raven?

This is why I miss being a kid. You know, I think tomorrow everyone can listen to how much I miss Saturday morning cartoons.

About Writer 66

Writing since the age of seven, managed to get a job as a copy writer, while enjoying the unsung awesomeness as a creative fan fic writer.

Posted on January 22, 2011, in Interludes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I don’t love Poe. I love P.O.E, however. And, I definitely dig Kindle for Android. Lastly, my favorite “N” word is gnome.

    • How could you not love Poe??? The group POE (ones that did ‘Angry Johnny’, right?) I understand, but not Poe? My Kindle is doubly awesome, I’ll tell you that. I finished Sleepy Hollow like in thirty minutes and have lined myself up some classics – Dracula, Holmes, Poe, and Moby Dick. Working my way through Well’s “Island of Dr. Moreau”, which almost makes me want to see the movie with Brando. Almost, as in, “I must have absolutely nothing to do with my spare time, where even digging my eyes out with a spoon seems boring” to watch.

      And gnome isn’t an ‘n’ word. Is it? I mean, I would assume with it starting with a ‘g’ that it’s a g-word. Huh. You have left me pondering a question.

  2. The Pit & The Pendulum, The Black Cat, The Tell Tale Heart… take your pick, m’dear.
    Who doesn’t love Poe?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

