Left Turn At Albuquerque

So yesterday I was expressing the incredible irony in that as soon as my announcement to move went around, others began moving away too. Of course, yesterday was probably just a pep talk in the fact that stuff in my apartment is slowly and surely starting to disappear and all that’s left is a lot of floor.

Today’s post is how to cope with those days that are lost when you move, especially big moves. Moving from one place to another, in city, while tons of work isn’t as stressful or time consuming – I think – as moving from one city to another, or one state to another. I’ve moved around in Tucson before, with not that much of a big deal (though I did stupidly leave a lot of stuff at the ‘rent’s house when I moved), but moving out of state seems to have upped the ante, so to speak.

On top of that, my mind is obviously not where it should be – writing articles, so that I will have the money to pay rent on the apartment I’m moving into, while paying the last month’s rent for the place I’m leaving. That’s a lot of dough. And when I made this decision last month, I said “Yeah. I can handle that. In fact, I know I can.”

Well…today’s the 16th and I haven’t even put a dent into that plan of mine. What happened? Let’s just say that the month of December, which should have been a financially stable, if not a financial boom became a financial let down. Nothing stresses me out more than finances, especially when I have established a financial plan and then life fucks with my chi. Completely and utterly annoying.

So you would think that with that going down, I’d be shooting down articles like gang busters. No. Well, I tried and in the end, I didn’t try very hard. And really, I have no idea what’s up with that. I’m really trying to get out of this ‘wait to the last minute mentality’ that seemed to have taken a hold of me this year (and probably last year too). What is the correct way to handle your freelancing while moving?

Well, the correct way would be to get as many projects as you can out of the way and turned in before their due date. This way, if something is due before, during, or immediately after your move, you won’t have to worry about it. There is no stress in trying to figure out how to get work done or being left behind because everything that was due has been finished and turned in (or scheduled to be).

Overall, take that day (or week) off for the purpose of moving. For instance, I know for a fact I probably will not get any writing done Christmas Day (and possibly Christmas Eve), so in my schedule, I’ve made sure not to have any freelance writing done. I do have a note to do the blog, cause it seems like a nice thing to say Happy Holidays to everyone who’s reading. *views the reading audience. Crickets are heard*

Okay. Moving on. Ha. Get it?

Right.

Here’s a nice article on distractions – which has seemed to be my number three nemesis in working from home – from my buds at Freelance Advisor. This weekend – not sure. Maybe more about trying to rise above working from home. Actually, yes, that sounds bonzer, don’t you think?

About Writer 66

Writing since the age of seven, managed to get a job as a copy writer, while enjoying the unsung awesomeness as a creative fan fic writer.

Posted on December 16, 2010, in Beginnings, The Business Side and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

