Denver, Here I Come! Part I

So…it is now officially official.

I’m moving to Denver, CO.

And I’m like OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG!

There are many reason why I’m leaving the comfort and safety of my current hometown of Tucson, AZ, but let’s just say that the time has come for me to put on the big girl pants. Yes, reading viewers *knocks on screen. Hello?* Gina is growing up and branching out.

How does this affect the life as we know it? And most importantly, how does this impact the desire to be a freelancer? Well, let me tell you a story, kids. Or peers. As we all know, moving is a bitch. And by bitch, I mean bitch. Moving in town is crazy, but out of town? And out state? Let’s just say I have been preparing for this for months and have wanted it for years.

Okay, now on to the professional aspect, which is of course what this blog is here for (kinda). How does moving impact the freelancer? Well, if you have never moved before – as in, never moved any where out of where you live – the moving process, while still a headache, is a bit more smoother than that of moving out of the city or out of the state. You of course need to send out change of addresses and switch services from one place to another (unless this is the first big time move, then you need to set up services)

While I have been expecting and awaiting the days that I will finally leave, the fact that those days are coming up have all of a sudden raised the bar on just about everything. This week, I got the official word that I have an apartment in Denver, meaning I now have to set up service there (cause 1. Arizona stuff doesn’t cover Colorado and 2. I’m on the ball with that) and of course meaning I need to cancel service down here (which of course I’m debating on which day).

I’ve given notice at work (like two months after I came back the first time) and am slowly telling all the cool kids my new phone numbers. As a freelancer, there is of course the issue of email addresses and when I should change my address info – now, when I have the apartment address or when I’m in the apartment, with Internet set up?

AGH! And OMG again!

Exciting and scary all at the same time. This of course also means I should probably catch up on all those outstanding fan fics I have. And catch up with all the cool shows I managed to miss for two years straight. I’m slowly catching up with American Dad and today, I finally caught up with The Guild.

Oy there’s still a lot to do!

About Writer 66

Writing since the age of seven, managed to get a job as a copy writer, while enjoying the unsung awesomeness as a creative fan fic writer.

Posted on December 11, 2010, in Interludes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

