We Now Return to Our Regularly Scheduled Program

In the post before, I explain why I got a little late in the posting here. In the post before that, I went over the wonderful downsides to procrastination (which actually, has no upsides to speak of). Today…I’ll talk about finding some awesome tips on becoming a freelance writer.

Hopefully everyone is aware that, as I write this, I’m learning how to become a freelancer too. So, your journey is my journey and we will journey together in a sea of…journeys. Yeah, that sounds about right.

When looking into freelancing, I stumbled upon it due to our great and rocking economy at the moment *insert righteous sarcasm* just to make extra money. From what I’ve been reading and looking into, a lot of freelancers started that way – just looking to get some extra bucks to pay bills and what not. For me, freelancing took on a life of its own when I discovered how much I miss writing.

And ultimately how good I was at it.

I came across a good article the other day by Twitter friends, Freelance Advice on making a business plan, which after reading it seems to be an odd thing for a freelancer to do, but when you think about it, freelancing is a business, especially if that’s what your business is all about. You’re basically self-employed.

Yeah, it was scary to me too. I’ve never been self-employed before and there’s a host of crazy things like taxes and all that good stuff. It’s more than just sitting around in my jammies. There’s actually stuff to know and go about making sure that your business is good to go. Check out the podcasts that Freelance Advice has on their site.

From Freelance Folder, here’s “Five Ways to Start a Freelance Business” – good stuff to know and a good boost if you’re thinking about it. Tomorrow, I’ll give everyone a list of some of the sites I found to be helpful in guiding newbies like me on the right path.

About Writer 66

Writing since the age of seven, managed to get a job as a copy writer, while enjoying the unsung awesomeness as a creative fan fic writer.

Posted on November 10, 2010, in Beginnings, Interludes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

