So You Want to be a Copywriter

Last week, I had an epiphany. Two things came to mind right around the beginning of the week -

  • This month of February marks the one year anniversary of my freelance adventures

February 2010 was my first big hit as a freelance writer when I started doing articles for an online movie site. And this lasted for a few months until my contact person ended up leaving the site. However, we enjoyed working with each other and hope to find another project to do. This is good.

Next month will mark my one year anniversary as a writer for Bright Hub as well, which is where the majority of my contributions (and money) have been.

I really can’t believe that it’s been a year since I decided to be a freelance writer. It wasn’t all good, as I had to contend with real life and an actual job and the cabin fever of being at home all the time. This year of course will be the big one, as I try to make an actual living as a freelancer.

  • I decided to become a copywriter

So I came to the decision that, while article writing was great, that I needed to expand my horizons. A good writer knows how to write in a variety of different subjects, especially a freelance writer. That doesn’t mean you, a new freelancer, has to learn everything under the sun. Just means you happen to have knowledge on different subjects. And that’s how I came to the next level of the professional writing -

Copywriting.

What is copywriting you ask? It’s basically promoting a business, a person, or an idea to someone else. You know those ads you see in a magazine or on TV. That’s probably done by a copywriter. A copywriter is someone who uses words, images, or other persuasions to make you – the reader – buy what they are showing you. Copywriting is a mix of creativity, marketing, and writing.

I think I can do that. Maybe.

See, I just got this idea and am going to run with it. No means am I giving up the article writing, at least not now, but I am going to figure out how to jump into the shallow end of the writing pool with this. So far, Copyblogger has a pretty good 101 crash course on copywriting that I was checking out, but as someone who’s a bit poorly, I need to find some stuff on the cheap aka free.

Still looking on that, so make sure to come back and see how well this works.

 

 

About freelancer66r

A beginner in freelancing, writing has always been a part of my life. In 2010, I embarked on a new life as a part-time freelancer to earn extra money; in 2011, I'm hoping to take this further by being an actual freelancer.

Posted on February 13, 2011, in Beginnings, The Business Side and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Those were a couple of good ideas you have there. Good luck with them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 174 other followers

