When Procrastination Strikes

So I thought I’d do my first little interlude for this blog of mine and it’s a subject we all know and loathe or love, depending. Problem, thy name is procrastination.

In my quest of becoming a freelance writer, the one thing I worry about is that of the dreaded procrastination. Before, when I was just making up stories for the fun of it, hitting that wall of being uncreative wasn’t that big of a deal. Even doing my fan fics, taking a break was okay, hence why I did and do fan fic – no real deadlines, so I can just sit and let the ideas come to me.

For me, the procrastination starts when I start getting distracted (which is happening a lot as I go through this and plan an out of state move). This is anything from just checking my email, to checking my stuff on Facebook, to seeing what new tweets I have on Twitter. Then I see a news report and start reading it and then I have the updated comics to read and…

Well, you get the point.

I get distracted and then I remember I was working on something, then I say, “I’ll get back to that in a few minutes or an hour or something.” And before I know it, the day is nearly gone and I never got back to what I was doing, so I push it off until the next day, which then turns into two and then a week and yadda, yadda, yadda.

My number one fear of being a freelancer? Having the ‘work at home blues’ doubled from what it seems like now. Meaning my roaming around the house and not doing anything multiplies ten fold. I’m seriously easy to distract sometimes, especially if my brain refuses to do what it should or I tell it to. But of course, procrastination is about trying to get motivated about something, anything.

For anyone who is in my spot of thinking of making freelancing a real career, this is one of those big stumbling blocks. And sometimes it can be a real b***h to break through it.

Luckily, there are of course things to do that will get the mojo back where it needs to be. In fact, this blog is brought to you by an article on Freelance Folder. (Got distracted you see, from the article to doing a blog. LOL)

I’ve also read a few articles on the subject by Freelance Writing Jobs (which is an awesome place to find advice and jobs) and Freelance Advice (which has become my new advice place), which if you haven’t checked them out, you should.

The one thing a future freelancer should do is research and look up articles about freelancing, the most important ones being what to do when you just procrastinate on getting stuff done. Oh and before I forget, here’s my obligatory shout out to read my own stuff – I wrote an article about getting the productivity juices a flowing (wow, that kinda sounds wrong, doesn’t it?).

Here’s to getting something done, for everyone out there!

About freelancer66r

A beginner in freelancing, writing has always been a part of my life. In 2010, I embarked on a new life as a part-time freelancer to earn extra money; in 2011, I'm hoping to take this further by being an actual freelancer.

Posted on November 1, 2010, in Interludes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 174 other followers

